Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Urgent Conversations: Athens – Antwerp

Little wooden seats and the woman of his dreams, 2006
Wood mdf, plywood, metal, lamp, cd, cd player, 2 speakers, amplifier.
Dimensions variable.

The first exhibition that will inaugurate the temporary exhibition spaces of EMST simultaneously with the Program EMST in the World is a coproduction of EMST and the Museum of Contemporary Art Antwerp (M HKA).
The exhibition entitled Urgent Conversations: Athens – Antwerp will be inaugurated on October 31, 2016 and last until January 29, 2017, essentially restarting the temporary exhibition activities of the Museum, which had been suspended in 2015 due to the relocation at its permanent home and due to the activities that were taking place for the operation and receipt of the new building.
The exhibition aims to be a theoretical and visual dialogue, based on works from the collections of both Museums, which includes more than 70 works and is structured in 22 thematic units. In April 2017, the exhibition will travel to Belgium on a smaller scale.
Curated by: Bart De Baere, Katerina Koskina, assistant Curators: Stamatis Schizakis, Jan De Vree

         Dimitris Alithinos - Luc Deleu - Allan Sekula-Goshka Macuga - Theodoros - Wout Vercammen-Vlassis Caniaris - Jef Geys - Cady Noland-François Curlet - N.S.Harsha - Costas Varotsos- Costis - Paul De Vree - Sarenco-Jimmie Durham - Danny Matthys- Kostis Velonis-Ilias Papailiakis - Wilhelm Sasnal - Luc Tuymans-Marina Abramović & Ulay - Bernd Lohaus-Stefanos Tsivopoulos-Vlad Monroe - Eleni Mylonas - Hugo Roelandt-Marlene Dumas - Apostolos Georgiou - Koen van den Broek-Bia Davou -Alevtina Kakhidze - Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven-Guillaume Bijl - Chryssa - Johanna Kandl-Kimsooja - Ria Pacquée - Danae Stratou-Hicham Benohoud - Wim Delvoye - Costas Tsoclis-Nikos Alexiou - Yael Kanarek - Guy Rombouts-Douglas Gordon - Jacques Lizène - Lucas Samaras-Francis Alÿs - Charif Benhelima - Nina Papaconstantinou-Rustam Khalfin & Yuliya Tikhonova - Guy Mees - Rena Papaspyrou-Nicos Baikas - Thierry De Cordier - Ivan Kožarić-Stephen Antonakos - James Lee Byars - Philippe Van Snick-Jan Henderikse - Nikos Kessanlis - Panamarenko-Jan Fabre - Almagul Menlibayeva - Maria Papadimitriou